Register Now!!!
Iron Mike Productions Pardon Jack Johnson
DBE IBO
Box Fan Expo
Scroll Videos Left
Carl Froch interview by: AlonzoLucian Bute interview by: AlonzoAaron Pryor jr. interview: By Alonzo Adonis Stevenson interview by: AlonzoDavid Lemieux interview by: AlonzoJoachim Alcine interview by: AlonzoGlen Johnson interview vs Bute: By Alonzo Lucian Bute interview by: AlonzoKhan-Malignaggi video coverageKhan-Malignaggi video coverage
Scroll Videos Right


April 09, 2013

DIAZ-CUEVAS UNDERCARD ANNOUNCED FOR CORPUS CHRISTI

Press Release: Before ex-world lightweight champion Juan "Baby Bull" Diaz steps into the ring for his comeback fight against Pipino Cuevas Jr. on Saturday, April 13th, fans in Corpus Christi, Texas will see a co-feature matching local junior lightweight Jerry Belmontes in an eight-round bout against Nicaragua's Daniel Diaz. Fox Sports Networks and Fox Deportes will televise.

"The Corpus Christi Kid" Jerry Belmontes (17-1, 5 KOs) will have the crowd on his side on April 13th when he looks to bounce back from a loss against Eric Hunter last December.  A highly decorated amateur, the 24-year-old turned pro in 2008 and won his first 17 bouts before the decision loss against Hunter.  Now he gets his shot to get back in the win column and continue his journey to the top of the junior lightweight division in front of his hometown fans.  

Diaz (19-4-1, 14 KOs) will be moving up to 130 pounds for the first time, but the 27-year-old from Managua has every intention of delivering the goods on fight night.

The Fox Sports Networks telecast will air live at 10:00 p.m. ET/9:00 p.m. CT/7:00 p.m. PT.  Fox Deportes will air the fights on Sunday, April 14 at 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT.  Fuel TV will rebroadcast the fight on June 9th at 12:00p.m. ET/9:00 a.m. PT. Tickets are available for purchase by calling 210-979-3302 or online at www.ticketmaster.com or via charge by phone at (800) 745-3000.

Also featured on the broadcast will be welterweights Justin DeLoach (1-0) of Augusta, Georgia and Edinburg, Texas' Martin Gonzalez (1-1), as they compete in a four-round fight.

Corpus Christi will be fully represented in undercard action as junior lightweight Ramsey Luna (10-0) puts his perfect record on the line against Dallas' Jesus Rocha (2-3-1), welterweight Cesar Villa (2-0) takes on Laredo's Alberto Espinoza (1-3), heavyweight Ernest Reyna (1-0) faces Houston's Tony Wilcox (0-4) and Robert Vela (5-0-1) faces Francisco Arellano (4-1) of Bay City, with all four fights scheduled for four rounds.

Other undercard bouts include a six round fight between another Corpus Christi native, Greg Gutierrez (9-1) and Dallas' Jose Rodriguez (6-1) in a clash of lightweights and San Antonio's Kendo Castaneda (2-0, 1 KO) battling Laredo's Olvin Mejia (4-5-3, 4 KO's) in a four-round junior lightweight match. 

In the four round junior lightweight opener, San Antonio's Joseph Rodriguez (2-0) takes on Brownsville's Carlos Orenday (0-4).



Box Fan Expo
RDM
BIG DOG.
WBO
Iron Mike Productions
Boxingtalk Store
BoxingShow.TV
James Prince Boxing
Grant Boxing
8 count news
Google


BOXINGTALK.COM

© BOXINGTALK INC.  ALL RIGHTS RESERVED